2016 Be Healthy Georgia Festival – Atlanta, GA – 3/20/16

Three straight weekends of racing began for us with a 5:45am wake up call to go to the Be Healthy Georgia Festival for my daughter’s kids dash.  I decided against driving as I didn’t want to deal with road closures for the Publix Georgia Marathon and Half Marathon and the related limited parking.  I had chosen the Lindbergh station for maximizing sleep, so validated raking was a bonus.  My kid loves to do stuff with me, but she is not a morning person, so I had to fight through grumpies, but we got out early door on time.  Parking at the station didn’t go smoothly, but Lindbergh only meant a ten minute wait between trains.

The original plan was to enjoy more of the festival after the dash, but it felt like 38 degrees, the sun hadn’t come up yet and my kid hates cold more than I do, so I was thrilled the visitor center was open for warmth while we waited.  Whining was in full force when we went outside for the last ten minutes before the dashes. We did get to see the men’s winner of the half marathon, though.  Once our group was led to the start line and told go, C took off!  So much so I jogged an easy pace behind the kids as the set up wasn’t easy for us parents to get around without running the course.  She got her medal, water and banana and we were on our way back to the warmth of Marta.

Afterwards, the kiddo said her race was fun! I’m happy to hear it as I would love to be able to share my passion for running with her.  The ATC does such a great job with their races and I just wish it had been a little bit warmer to be able to enjoy the post race festival more.

Leave a Reply

