Tunes Tuesday – Random Music

Today is Tunes Tuesday and I’m linking up with KookyRunner, Run Steff Run and Run With No Regrets.  This week’s topic is random music.  For me, my song doesn’t get much more random than Let It Go by Idina Menzel, the famous (or infamous) song from the Frozen Soundtrack.

Yes, I know there are a lot of runners who love Disney (hello, RunDisney), but not everyone probably can say they have a song from an animated film on their running playlist.  Back in 2014, just after the Frozen thing became an obsession with my daughter, this became my theme song and had to go on my running playlist once I took up running.

When you get told you are being let go from your job so your new-ish boss can replace you with someone from his old company and you have to train your replacement, it’s easy for Let It Go to become a theme song when you listen to it.  With lines like “Conceal, don’t feel, don’t let them know” and “I don’t care what they’re going to say” it was a no brainer.

When it comes to running, this part totally applies:

 It’s funny how some distance 

Makes everything seem small.  

 And the fears that once controlled me                                                    

Can’t get to me at all

It’s time to see what I can do.

To test the limits and break through

No right, no wrong, no rules for me, I’m free!


When you really listen, this is way more than a song kids love to sing.  It’s funny how some distance makes thing seem small makes me think about how short miles seem to be now.  To test the limits and breakthrough apply to new distances and faster paces.  What random songs are on your playlist?

6 thoughts on “Tunes Tuesday – Random Music

  1. I have to admit I’ve never listened to Let It Go in its entirety, but it’s a great message! It’s amazing how music can help get us through some tough times. Thanks for linking up with us!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Children can give unexpected gifts, good ones. Although she drove my husband crazy always wanting to listen to the song that we can’t listen to it if he’s around.

      Like

Leave a Reply

